Skip to main content
AutoRABIT, Inc.

Org Synchronization

When you move changes from source org to a production org, the metadata types would be the same. But when you make changes in the production org, there would be inconsistency between the source org and production org.

Org sync helps you compare the differences between the objects, so you can add or delete an object or a metadata type and make sure that both the Orgs are in sync.

Once you start the process of Org sync, you can navigate or work on the rest of the tool and come back to the Org sync to check the Org synchronization status.

Launching Org Sync

  1.  In the home page, go to Deployment > Sync SFOrgs.
  2. The following screen is displayed:

  1. Click Get Org Differences.

  1. Enter a label name and choose the source and destination orgs.
  2. Check the Exclude baseline Managed Package changes button if necessary.
  3. Click on Get Differences. Metadata types along with their members are displayed.

  1. Click on filter icon  to filter the search option.

  • Exists in Source or Destination

Selecting this option, would display the metadata members that exist in source or destination.

  • Exists in Source

Selecting this option would display the metadata members that exist in the source only.

  • Exists in Destination

Selecting this option would display the metadata members that exist in the destination only. 

  • Selective Metadata Retrieval (Exists in Source & Destination)

Selecting this option would display the metadata objects that exist in both source and destination.

  1. Select the metadata types that you want to view and click OK.

  1. The metadata objects would be displayed.

  • Selective Metadata Retrieval (Exists in Source or Destination or Both)

Selecting this option would display the metadata objects that exist in both source or destination or both.

  1. Select the metadata types that you want to view and click OK.

  1. The metadata objects would be displayed.

  1. Once done with the filtration, choose the metadata types and its members. Click on Expand/Collapse All to view metadata members of a metadata type.
  2. Select Add to Destination Org or Delete from Destination Org, if you want to add or delete metadata types/ members to destination org.
  3. Next, click on Choose Apex Tests. Choose an apex tax class from the Test Level drop down field. By default, you have 4 tax class to choose from:
    1. No Test RunBuild is deployed without running any test cases.
    2. Run All Tests In Org: All tests are run. The tests include all tests in your organization, including tests of managed packages.
    3. Run Local Tests: All tests in your organization are run, except the ones that originate from installed managed packages. This test level is the default for production deployments that include Apex classes or triggers.
    4. Run Specified Tests: This option allows the user to run specific Apex test classes post deployment.
  4. Optionally you can validate the synchronization process, to check if the Org Sync will be successful.
    • Select the metadata members that you want to sync and click Validate Deployment.
    • The subsequent window will show the selected metadata members and their corresponding status, which will give you a view of which members can be synced successfully.

  1. Once you validate the deployment (which is optional), select the metadata types; click Sync Orgs. A notification gets displayed as below:

  1. After the sync is completed, the details of the latest sync can be seen on the home screen.

 

Understanding the Summary Page of Org Synchronization

  1. In the Org Synchronization home page, you can find list of labels along with Orgs Difference & Synchronization History reports. 

  1. Use the filter option to find a specific label.

  1. You can do multiple operations in the Org Synchronization home page.

  1. Info: Click on Info icon  to view synchronization information of the label.

  1. Delete: Deletes a label. A confirmation message is displayed asking whether you want to delete the label. On confirmation, the process is deleted. A deleted label will no longer be displayed in the summary page.
  2. Schedule: Schedule the process by filling in the required details like day, time, and the interval in which the process has to be run.

  1. Run: Click Run to start the synchronization, and choose if you want to exclude the baseline managed package changes.
  2. Status: Status of the synchronized label is displayed once the run is completed.
  3. Report: Click Report to see the detail report of a label.

  1. History: To view the deployment history report.

  1. Log: Click Log to view a detailed log of the deployment. The following screens gets displayed.

  1. Warnings: To view the warning reports if any.
  2. Deployment: To view the details of a deployment.

  1. Destructive: To get details of the destructive changes.
  • Was this article helpful?